Vin D’Orange

3 Mar

Even since having some Vin D’orange last week at La Fromagerie I’ve been desperate to make it and was pleased to see I could still get some Seville oranges before they were out of season so spent time today making litres of it to enjoy in 2 months time.

This is perfect drunk by itself as an aperitif or diluted with soda or tonic water for a longer drink or even added to some fizz…

There are lots & lots of different recipes online and they vary so wildly that I took a shot and made mine using this mix (I added lots & lots of oranges so you can cut those down by half if you want it less orangy or bitter)

To make a huge 8 litres of mix which will result in hopefully 4-5 litres of vin d’orange

  • 4 x 750ml bottles of rose wine
  • 750ml vodka (you want 150-200ml per bottle of rose)
  • 600g sugar (you could use more so 200g per bottle of wine but I want this bitter and one of the bottles of my rose wine was sweeter)
  • 24 Seville oranges (you can use just 4-8 per bottle but I want this orangy & bitter!)
  • 1-2 vanilla pods

The recipe:

  • I began by boiling the whole oranges for 5 minutes to remove any potential yeasts on their surface so it doesn’t ferment
  • meanwhile mix all the wine & vodka with the sugar to dissolve the sugar
  • split the vanilla pods and scrape the seeds out and add to the wine mixture
  • When the oranges are cool cut them in half and juice
  • Add the juice to the wine mixture
  • chop the oranges and put in sterilised jars
  • pour the rose mixture into each jar and seal
  • This now needs to be left for 1 month (checking & stirring occasionally) and then I’ll strain it through muslin and then leave for another month before enjoying and distributing as gifts

Leave a comment