Chocolate Cherry Cocktail

27 Mar

It’s week 4 of 52 weeks of mixology and the theme is St Patricks Day.

With Irish parents and far too many aunts and females cousins to count my main thoughts when trying to decide on an Irish drink centred around Baileys.

Sadly I’m not really a fan but then I remembered that last year my sister introduced me to the joys of chocolate Baileys and that I had a bottle in the back of the cupboard.

I don’t have much of a sweet-tooth and prefer my chocolate at 90% but this drink is good. Chocolatey without being too sweet and very moreish.

But knowing that just pouring this over ice wasn’t going to be enough I got to thinking about what would pair with it. I had no fresh mint or orange in the house and was worried lemon juice would curdle it so instead I settled on Maraschino for a chocolate/ cherry combo.

Knowing it would still be too sweet and needed depth I scoured my bitters and choose a sour cherry one and the end drink- I loved it!

20150327-211818.jpg

The recipe is:
– 2oz chocolate Balleys
– 1oz Maraschino
– 20 drops of bitters

All shaken over lots of ice to get it super chilled and then finished with some maraschino cherries to fish out at the end

Leave a Reply

