Wandering Scotsman

21 Mar

My review of this cocktail from last months Shaken Cocktails kit comes with a disclaimer – I hate Whisky.
Or more accurately it hates me. Something in it makes me nauseous at s minimum (as does anything smoked/ peaty or truffles- if anyone knows the link please let me know!) it never used to and I miss it dearly

But this drink sounded so good I thought, in the interests of science of course, I’d at least give it a ago. And it was worth it.

20150321-193952.jpg

The recipe is:
– 50ml Whisky
– 10ml Velvet Falernum
– 15ml Aperol
– 10 drops Angostura bitters
All stirred over ice

The end result was delicious- warming and slightly spicy. Whisky with a hint of Orange with a great spiced ‘burn’ as the aftertaste.
Well worth it.

2 Responses to “Wandering Scotsman”

  1. polianthus March 21, 2015 at 8:18 pm #

    so in the interest of science – did this make you sick? or is it only the smell that you cannot tolerate?

    • jeanpower March 23, 2015 at 5:10 pm #

      I only risked a couple of sips but it was enough to make me mildly unwell. So annoying! It didn’t smell too strongly of whiskey so maybe that’s how I could stomach some of it at all- I need to do more experiments I think 🙂

Leave a Reply

