Chocolate Stout

12 Mar

Continuing my search for a beer cocktail I experimented this evening with Guinness and chocolate and made this drink I’ve titled Chocolate Stout.

20150312-180146.jpg

Although I like chocolate I don’t love the sugary varieties so usually plump for 85% plus but this Sweet Freedom Chocolate Shot is perfect for a chocolate hit. Its ingredients are just Sweet Freedom® (natural fruit extracts; apples, grapes & carob), water, cocoa, rapeseed oil and natural chocolate flavour . I used it in coffee to make a mocha and on ice-cream as a sauce- this is the first time I’ve used it in a cocktail.
I then rummaged for some chocolate bitters and found these chocolate and coffee ones from Crude Bitters and they seemed perfect for the task at hand.

The recipes I used was:
– 15ml of Chocolate shot
– 30 drops of the bitters
– 1 can of Guinness stirred in

The end result was a delicious drink with all the dark bitterness of Guinness with a chocolate hit and a chocolate and coffee finish.

It’s a perfect ‘dessert cocktail’ if you don’t have too sweet a tooth though you could add extra chocolate shot if wanted.

Leave a Reply

