Texas Grapefruit Rattler

8 Mar

I’ve recently begun taking part in 52 weeks of mixology on Reddit where each week for a year a different theme will be given and participants will post photos, recipes and descriptions.
There’s still time to join as you can begin at any time and post a week up to 3 weeks late so dive in!

I’m now on week 2 (week 1 was themed ‘My favourite cocktail so of course I posted a Negroni) and the theme is beer.

Having not really made any beer cocktails I’m looking forward for an excuse to try some new recipes and following the links given in the theme post I came across todays drink: a Texas Grapefruit Rattler.

20150308-142853.jpg

I used 1/4 cup/ 60ml of freshly squeezed pink grapefruit juice and a bottle of Stella Artois.
I wasn’t sure what beer would work best so went with something easy though I’d be interested to try it again using a different beer. I’d also like to try it with the addition of some of my hopped grapefruit bitters to add further depth.

The resulting drink was fresh and refreshing. Bitter and sharp it took a few tries to get used to it but when I did I really enjoyed it. This would be great on a hot day and I’m sure I’ll make some more over the summer.

One Response to “Texas Grapefruit Rattler”

  1. serenaglow March 8, 2015 at 6:40 pm #

    Cool ! I like Reddit 🙂

Leave a Reply

